Veronica Cup

The Veronica Cup is an honour based, “woman-at-the-helm” race starting at the HYC start / finish markers, sail out and around the Lake Simcoe Weather Buoy, and return to pass through the HYC start / finish markers. Each participant records their start and finish times and posts them on the bulletin board in the clubhouse. The Veronica Cup is presented at the Commodore’s Ball for the season’s best time.

The following are the details of this fun race:

When:  Anytime between Sailpast and the week before first lift out.

When:  As often as you wish to do the course.

Who:  Female skippered Hawkestone Yacht Club Boats *

Course:  HYC start / finish line – Environmental Weather Buoy as turning mark – HYC start / finish line.

Direction:  Up to the Captain.  Take start line or Environmental Weather Buoy to Port or Starboard.

Start and Finish:  Between HYC start / finish marks

Turning Mark:  Environmental Weather Buoy: N44 29.98 W79 22.05

Times:  You must record your start time and finish time to the second  (As bow crosses line).  On your honour!!

Recording Races:  In order for your race to be recognized, be sure to record your Boat, Skipper, Start Time, Finished Time and Elapsed Time in the Clubhouse the day the race is completed.  This is a Best Actual Time Race.  HYC PHRF adjustments will apply.

Past Veronica Cup Winners:

2017 – Sassafras – Skipper:  Linda Marsh

2016 – Sultana III – Skipper: Les Galicinski

2015 – Lorna Doone – Skipper: Lorna Bolden

2014 – Sultana III – Skipper: Les Galicinski

2013 – Sultana III – Skipper: Les Galicinski

2012 – Sassafras – Skipper: Linda Marsh

* female skipper rule re-instituted in 2017